MMFF 2017 announces official entries » Manila Bulletin Entertainment

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

MMFF 2017 announces official entries



Tim Orbos

Tim Orbos

The official entries to the 2017 Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) have been announced in a program held recently at Club Filipino attended by the members of this year’s MMFF Executive Committee headed by Chairman Tim Orbos.

The official entries were selected based on the following criteria: Artistic excellence (40%), commercial viability (40%), promotion of Filipino cultural and historical values (10%) and global appeal (10%).

The announcement was made by the Chairman of the Selection Committee National Artist Bienvenido Lumbera with members Atty. Alu Dorotan, Alan and Yulde (Cinema 2000), Bing Advincula (Robinsons Cinema), award-winning filmmakers Maryo J. de los Reyes and Mel Chionglo, Gordon Ting (Vista Cinema), award-winning writer Roy Iglesias, MTRCB representative Consoliza Laguardia and film producer Jessie Ejercito.

Migz Haleco

Migz Haleco

The eight official full-length entries are “Ang Panday” (CCM Creative Productions, Viva and Star Cinema) directed by Rodel Nacianceno; starring Coco Martin, “Deadma Walking” (T-Rex Productions) directed by Julius Alfonso; starring Joross Gamboa and Edgar Allan Guzman, “Gandarrapido! The Revenger Squad” (Star Cinema and Viva Films) directed by Joyce Bernal; starring Vice Ganda, Pia Wurtzbach and Daniel Padilla, “Siargao” (Ten17 Productions) directed by Paul Soriano; starring Jericho Rosales and Erich Gonzales, “All Of You” (Quantum Films) directed by Dan Villegas; starring Jennylyn Mercado and Derek Ramsay, “Haunted Forest” (Regal Films) directed by Ian Loreños; starring Jane Oineza, Jameson Blake and Jon Lucas, “Ang Larawan” (Culturtain Muscat Productions Inc.) directed by Loy Arcenas; starring Joanna Ampil, Rachel Alejandro and Paulo Avelino; and “Meant To Beh” (MZet, APT and OctoArts Films) directed by Chris Martinez; starring Vic Sotto and Dawn Zulueta.

Now on its 43rd year, the annual MMFF will run from Dec. 25, 2017 to Jan. 7, 2018 with the traditional Parade of Stars happening on Dec. 23 sponsored by the City of Muntinlupa (celebrating its Centennial Anniversary) and the Gabi ng Parangal on Dec. 27 at the KIA Theater.


  • • •

 Music stars at MBC Choral Competition

Tanya Chinita

Tanya Chinita

Special guest artists brighten up the Aliw Theater stage as Manila Broadcasting Company and Star City mount the ongoing 2017 MBC National Choral Competitions.

For the grand finals today, Tanya Chinita of 90.7 Love Radio, Donnalyn Bartolome, and Migz Haleco are the special guests.

There are 41 chorales vying for the 2017 MBC National Choral Competition championships. R150,000 is at stake for the grand champion in the open category, and R100,000 is up for grabs in the children’s division.

Showtime is at 5 p.m. Admission is free.


  • • •

Tidbits: Happy b-day greetings today, Dec. 9, go to Dr. James Dy, Judith Banal, Beverly Salviejo, Butch Francisco, Ernie Pilapil, Lily Juico, OV Espiritu, and Eva Sharma… Dec. 10: Conchita Razon, Lydia Veneracion, RamonValencia, Sabina Dacer, Teddy Gordoncillo, Lota Reyes, Elizabeth Chan, and Krista Ranillo… Dec. 11: Aquilino Pimentel, Hannah Gana, Lovely Romulo, Brenda del Rio, Ian de Leon, Alice Cabahug, Mark Manalang, Ellen Velasco of Ellen’s Salon & Spa, Atty. Emil Anton Coronel, Nelson Navarro, Baby Nebrida, Dik Trofeo, Hazel Tuazon-Soriano, Atty. Estelita Aguirre, Cecile Marcaida, Carina Martinez, Puma de Borja, Sam Pinto and Rep. Lucy Torres-Gomez… A tribute concert to Ms. Annie Brazil (who’s still in the hospital) will be held tomorrow at Aruba in Rockwell Makati. One of the performer is Rachel Ann Wolf who’s coming over from New York…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Related Posts