Star-studded Belenismo 2017 » Manila Bulletin Entertainment

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

Star-studded Belenismo 2017



On its 10th year, the Belenismo sa Tarlac contest saw talented performers entertain the audience at the College of the Holy Spirit Gym where the awarding was held.

  • Belen in Municipality of Capas (Event photos by Enie Reyes)

    Belen in Municipality of Capas (Event photos by Enie Reyes)

  • SM Prime Holdings Inc.

    SM Prime Holdings Inc.

  • Jose Manalo

    Jose Manalo

  • Wally Bayola

    Wally Bayola

  • Luane Dy

    Luane Dy

  • Jona Viray

    Jona Viray

  • Dr. Isa Cojuangco-Suntay with DILG Undersecretary Eduardo M. Año

    Dr. Isa Cojuangco-Suntay with DILG Undersecretary Eduardo M. Año

    Comedy duo Jose Manalo and Wally Bayola sang and did hilarious sketches. They were followed by The Opera that took on the Rico Puno classic “Magkasuyo Buong Gabi” then “Silent Night.”

    Jona Viray belted her popular hits used as theme songs on teleseryes and in the movies. Among these were “You,” “I Will Survive,” and “Pusong Ligaw.”

    The multi-talented Arron Villaflor showcased his talent in terpsichore. He connected with the people in covering 6cyclemind’s “Prinsesa.”

    Other celebrities who joined the party were Kapuso talents One Up, Migo Adecer, Mikee Quintos, and Julie Anne San Jose.

    Of course, the highlight of the event was the competition itself joined by 44 entities. Each entry from the different towns of Tarlac province made a giant Belen made from recycled materials.

    According to the chair of the Tarlac Heritage Foundation and founder of the event Dr. Isa Cojuangco-Suntay, the festival helps the province preserve their title as the Belen capital of the Philippines.

    The Belens came in various sizes, colors and designs proving how creative Tarlaqueños are.

    A special award was given to the Philippine Army 7th Infantry Division, Mechanized Infantry Divison and Philippine National Police Regional Office 3, who joined under the category of Grand Non Municipal. Their Belen titled “Marawi Sa Panahon Ng Kapayapaan” is dedicated to their comrades who fought during the war in Marawi City. The belen depicted the birth of Jesus, as well as notable landmarks in Marawi like the Grand Mosque and Lake Lanao.

    Hosted by Luane Dy, the event was attended by soldiers of Marawi headed by Major General Rolando Bautista. Each trooper was awarded for their heroism.

    Department of the Interior and Local Government Undersecretary Eduardo M. Año also graced the event.

    Belenismo sa Tarlac competition has five categories namely Community, Church, Monumental, Grand Municipal, and Grand Non Municipal. The winners won prizes ranging from R30,000 to R100,000.

    Full list of winners:

    Grand Municipal Category
    First Place (P100,000.00) – Municipality of Capas
    Tied for Second Place (P60,000.00 each) – Municipality of Moncada and Municipality of Concepcion
    Tied for Third Place (P50,000.00 each) – Municipality of San Manuel and Municipality of San Clemente

    Grand Non Municipal Category
    Tied for First Place (P100,000.00 each) – St. Francis of Assisi Parish (Fr. Cris Lozano) and SM Prime Holdings Inc.
    2nd Place (P60,000.00) – McDonald’s Capas

    Monumental Category
    1st Place (P80,000.00) – McDonald’s Motorway
    2nd Place (P60,000.00) – Tarlac Agricultural University
    3rd Place (P50,000.00) – Azaya Garden Resort
    4th Place (P40,000.00) – CityMall

    Church Category
    1st Place (P80,000.00) – St. Joseph Parish (Fr. Noel Paguinto)
    2nd Place (P50,000.00) – Our Lady of Mt. Carmel Parish (Fr. Pablo Mungcal)
    3rd Place (P40,000.00) – Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish (Dapdap – Fr. Joselito Nidea)

    Community Category
    Tied for First Place (P70,000.00 each) – Sto. Cristo Parish (Fr. Jonathan Ovivir) and Barangay Health Worker – Tariji
    Tied for Second Place (P50,000.00 each) – Barangay Balingcanaway Community and Taguiporo Giants Association – Sta. Ignacia
    Tied for Third Place (P40,000.00 each) – Samahan sa Pura Community and BHF Ligtasan
    Fourth Place (P30,000.00) – Gr8 Multipurpose.

    Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

    Related Posts