Bb. Pilipinas 2019 search to begin in February – sources » Manila Bulletin Entertainment

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

Bb. Pilipinas 2019 search to begin in February – sources



The Binibining Pilipinas beauty pageant, the most anticipated and most prestigious beauty contest in the country, is expected to begin its annual search in February, sources said on Friday, Jan. 11.

“We will just have to wait for the Miss Intercontinental pageant to finish. We will just wait for Miss Philippines Karen Gallman to compete in the international pageant. After that, we are ready to announce the annual search,” sources told the Manila Bulletin.



Gallman is the last of the current batch of queens to compete in an international pageant. She is representing the Philippines in the 47th Miss Intercontinental beauty pageant which will be held at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City on Jan. 26.

In most cases, the annual search for Bb. Pilipinas contest usually begins in December after the Binibinis have competed abroad.

Since the Miss Intercontinental pageant is being held in January, organizers of the prestigious Bb. Pilipinas pageant have pushed back its annual search to a later date.

Now on its 55th year, the Bb. Pilipinas pageant currently sends delegates to international pageants such as Miss Universe, Miss International, Miss Supranational, Miss Intercontinental, Miss Grand International; and Miss Globe.

So far, of the present batch of title holders, Catriona Gray won the title of 2018 Miss Universe in Bangkok, Thailand. Other stellar performances were Athisa Manalo, 1st runner-up, Miss International; Jehza Mae Huellar, Top 10, Miss Supranational; and Michelle Gumabao, Top 15, Miss Globe.

The Bb. Pilipinas has also already produced three other Miss Universe – Gloria Diaz (1969), Margarita Moran (1973) and Pia Alonzo Wurtzbach (2015).

Five Binibinis have won Miss International: Aurora Pijuan (1970), Melanie Marquez (1979), Precious Lara Quigaman (2005), Bea Santiago (2013) and Kylie Verzosa (2016).

Other international titleholders were: Miss Globe International 2001 Maricar Balagtas; Miss Supranational 2013 Mutya Johanna Datul; and Miss Globe 2015 Ann Colis.

Related Posts