BTS, The Boyz get special awards at MTV VMAJ » Manila Bulletin Entertainment

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

BTS, The Boyz get special awards at MTV VMAJ



K-pop boy bands BTS and The Boyz won special awards at the MTV Video Music Awards Japan (MTV VMAJ) held on Sept. 18 at Studio Coast in Tokyo.

BTS won the Best Buzz Award and The Boyz took home the Rising Star Award along with Ballistik Boyz from EXILE Tribe. During the show, The Boyz performed “No Air” and “DDD.”

BTS (top) and The Boyz with their Rising Star Award (Photos: Big Hit and MTV Japan on Twitter)

BTS (top) and The Boyz with their Rising Star Award (Photos: Big Hit and MTV Japan on Twitter)

Japanese rock band King Gnu won the Best Video of the Year and Best New Artist Video, a first in the history of MTV VMAJ. The group won the awards for “Hakujitsu,” which earned the most fan votes across all categories to bag the best video plum. The music video for the song has garnered 64 million views on YouTube to date since it was uploaded last February.

The MTV VMAJ honors the best music videos and has been held since 2002 as the Japanese counterpart of the MTV Video Music Awards in the US. The 2019 MTV VMAJ will be broadcast by MTV in Japan, China, Australia/New Zealand, and Southeast Asia from September 22.

“It was great to see the different creative approaches to each performance. The international videos are very elaborate in composition, whereas the Japanese performances tend to be more structured and nuanced in their style,” said Simon Bates, head of MTV Asia Pacific, Viacom International Media Networks.

Here’s the complete list of winners at the 2019 MTV VMAJ:

Best Video of the Year: King Gnu, “Hakujitsu”
Best Male Video-Japan: Daichi Miura, “Katasumi”
Best Male Video-International: Khalid, “Talk”
Best Female Video-Japan: Aimyon,”Konya kono mama”
Best Female Video-International: Taylor Swift,”Me! feat. Brendon Urie”
Best Group Video-Japan: Keyakizaka46, “Kuroi Hitsuji”
Best Group Video-International: THE 1975,”Sincerity is Scary”
Best New Artist Video-Japan: King Gnu,”Hakujitsu”
Best New Artist Video-International: Billie Eilish,”Bad Guy”
Best Rock Video: BUMP OF CHICKEN,”Aurora”
Best Alternative Video: BiSH,”stereo future”
Best Pop Video: Suda Masaki,”Machigaisagashi”
Best Hip Hop Video: KREVA,”Neiro-2019 Ver.”
Best Dance Video: Sakanaction,”Wasurerarenaino”
Best Collaboration Video: Sheena Ringo & Hiroji Miyamoto,”The Narrow Way”
Best Choreography: Hinatazaka46, ”Kyun”


MTV Rock the World Award: GLAY
Artist of the Year: ONE OK ROCK
Best Album of the Year: Gen Hoshino,”POP VIRUS”
Best Buzz Award: BTS
Best Song Award: Official Hige Dandism,”Pretender”
Rising Star Award: Ballistik Boyz from EXILE Tribe, The Boyz
MTV Breakthrough Song: Foorin, “Paprika”

Tags: , , , , , ,

Related Posts