20 years of great mornings on ‘Unang Hirit’ » Manila Bulletin Entertainment

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

20 years of great mornings on ‘Unang Hirit’



The country’s longest-running morning show “Unang Hirit” marks its 20th year on Philippine TV by having a super fun week.

From today until Dec 6, viewers will be treated to special episodes and surprises including visits by former hosts on the show. Special prizes such as home appliances, furniture, negosyo packages, and gadgets will be given away—as well as a new house and lot.

Over the years, the UH barkada has grown. Pioneer hosts Arnold Clavio, Suzi Entrata-Abrera, and Lhar Santiago are joined by Lyn Ching, Love Añover-Llanko, Susan Enriquez, Connie Sison, Ivan Mayrina, Mariz Umali, and Luane Dy. The program also has its team of experts, Nathaniel “Mang Tani” Cruz, Atty. Gaby Concepcion, and Mareng Winnie Monsod. Now the group is made extra colorful with the presence of regular UH katambays Boobay, Juancho Triviño and Joyce Pring, and also recently, with Mga Batang UH Yuan Francisco, Angelica Ulip, and Leanne Bautista.

The hosts of 'Unang Hirit'

The hosts of ‘Unang Hirit’

Coinciding with the show’s anniversary was the contract renewal of its hosts last Nov. 26, attended by GMA Network executives.

“Unang Hirit” prides itself for having bagged the Catholic Mass Media Awards (CMMA) “Best Live Special Event Coverage Award” for “Unang Hirit sa Vatican and Italy” and “Live sa Holy Land” hosted by Susan Enriquez and Rhea Santos, respectively.

The show airs weekdays at 4:55 a.m. on GMA 7.

Related Posts