PH scores triumph at 24th ATA » Manila Bulletin Entertainment

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

PH scores triumph at 24th ATA



Several Filipino personalities and works were honored at the 24th Asian Television Awards (ATA) held in Manila over the weekend.

Actor Martin del Rosario picked up a trophy for Best Male Leading Performance in the digital category for his performance in “Born Beautiful.” In it, he plays the role of a transgender woman who works as a mortuary beautician at Happy Ending Funeral Homes.



The digital movie “Mystified,” on the other hand, won as Best Single Drama. Two of its lead stars Karylle and Diana Zubiri accepted the trophy.

Scene from 'Mystified'

Scene from ‘Mystified’

“Alanganin,” performed by Kris Lawrence and Krizza Neri for GMA-7’s “Barangay 143,” took home the Best Theme Song award.

ABS-CBN newscaster Cathy Yang and “Barangay 143” were among the winners of the Technical and Creative Awards. Yang was the Best News Presenter or Anchor winner for her work on “Market Edge With Cathy Yang” on cable channel ANC, while “Baranggay” 143 won the Best 2D Animated Program plum.

'Barangay 143'

‘Barangay 143’

Meanwhile, business tycoon Manny Pangilinan was recipient of the Award For Outstanding Contribution to Asian Television.

He was unable to personally receive his trophy but a speech was read by TV5 president and CEO Jane Basas.

“It is a validation for a journey that—about a decade ago—many thought as foolish to embark. We invested as a third player in a two-network town at the crux of unpredictable and rapid seismic changes in content creation, consumption, and human behavior,” the speech read. “It would not have been a worthwhile adventure though if we did not have moments of trepidation.”

A total of 18 awards were given, with winners chosen by an expert panel of more than 50 judges from all over Asia.

The recently concluded event marked the first time ATA was hosted by the Philippines since its founding in 1996.

Pinoy actor Mark Neumann served as one of the hosts along with Cathy. They were joined by Thai actress Ase Wang and Singapore media personality Wallace Ang.

Here are the other winners:

Best Actor in a Leading Role: William Hsieh for “First Love”

Best Actress in a Leading Role: Tisanart Sornsuek of “True Life of a Drama Queen”

Best Direction (Fiction): Jeevan Nathan of Avenue 14

Cable/Satellite Network of the Year: Line Company Thailand

Terrestrial Broadcaster of the Year: China Global Television

Best Host / Presenter – Digital: Panirin Tumwattana of “Little Nirin”

Best Entertainment Presenter/Host: Alana Nichols of “Follow Alana”

Award For Outstanding Contribution to Asian Television: Manny Pangilinan

Best Adaption of an Existing Format: “Masterchef Junior Thailand Season 1”

Best Reality Show: “My Kitchen Rules Australia”

Award for Outstanding Contribution to Asian Television Performing Arts: Anggun

Best Original Digital Drama Series: “The Deadline”

Best Digital Fiction Programme/Series: “Social Syndrome”

Best Leading Male Performance – Digital: Martin del Rosario for “Born Beautiful ”

Best Leading Female Performance – Digital: Chanya McClory for “The Deadline”

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Attaphan Poonsawat of “The Gifted”

Best Actress in Supporting Role: Anyarin Terethananpat of “Loop of Vengeance”

Best Single Drama or Telemovie: “Mystified”

Best Drama Series: “Skycastle”

Best Theme Song: “Alanganin” by Kris Lawrence and Krizza Neri for “Barangay 143”

Related Posts